He Might Sprint: Andrew Hudson

Andrew Hudson was the main catalyst for all the success the Texas Tech track team had this year during their indoor and outdoor seasons. Hudson is one of the fastest runners in the world and seems to only get better as times goes along. What impresses me so much about him is his drive and his willingness to work hard and improve as a runner despite all the success he has had in his career. I sat down Hudson to discuss his legacy, future, and expectations for Texas Tech track going forward.

How does it feel to bring home Texas Tech its first men’s National Championship? It feels amazing bringing a national championship to Texas Tech, being the first men’s team EVER to do this is a great accomplishment and sets me in stone as a Texas Tech LEGEND.”

What are your plans going forward with your career? My plans going forward are to run professionally I have recently signed with an agent (Icon Management) and hope to sign a shoe sponsorship.”  

What advice would you give incoming recruits? “Any advice I would give to incoming recruits would be to remain patient I came into this track team with us not even being ranked and now we’ve been ranked number one all season and sealed an NCAA Championship finally my senior year.” 

Favorite Tech memory My favorite tech memory is winning our first indoor big 12 championships in Texas tech track & field history.”  

How special was this year’s team? This year’s team was special because it’s clearly the best team Texas Tech has ever put together in men’s history.” 

what was your first thought when you won the National Title? We finally won as a team, after doubts and other negative feedback from so many sources we finally put it to an end.”  

What are the expectations of the track team going forward after you leave? The expectations are high now for any recruits that come in I would love for them to accomplish the same things the 2019 team has.” 

How much fun was it running with Derrius Rodgers? It’s fun running with Derrius, even when he isn’t able to be out there because of his injury, his energy is great and needed for this sprint squad, he’s a leader and a positive influence that was well added.”

What motivates you to be one of the best track runners in the world even with all your awards and accolades? “What motivates me is my competitive nature and my enjoyment in competing, I feel athletes lose the reason they started, not because money or popularity but the sport simply being fun when we started as kids just running for excitement.” 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑